Useful App of the Week: Android Barcode Scanner

A few mornings ago, my flat iron broke (not a great way to start the morning).  When I got to the store that evening to pick up a new one, I was paralyzed by almost 20 different options and immediately wished I had taken the time to do research before I got to the store.  The experience reminded me of an article I had seen in the New York Times about customers being paralyzed by too many choices and limited information about the benefits of any given product.

Then, I remembered that my G2 had a barcode scanner and got to work scanning the barcodes of all of the flat irons (for good measure), including ones that were “infused with avocado oil” and “included crushed pearl particles.”

The barcode scanner was easy to use and often identified the product by name and model number.  I then clicked on the button to search the web for the item and, inevitably, one of the first results was an Amazon listing of the product, which includes user ratings directly in the result.  Based on these, I was able to make my decision within minutes.  The barcode scanner is my new defense against shopping paralysis.

About Anne
I'm a marketing professional with a deep passion for delivering a memorable Customer experience from the very first time a Customer encounters a brand. I have a strong focus on technology commercialization and marketing innovative products. While I was a student at the University of Toronto, I founded Young Inventors International, a not-for-profit organization that has worked with more than 2,000 university student innovators.

Leave a Reply

