The Ultimate Evangelist

One of the great things about living in California is the proximity to In-N-Out Burger.  As I got out of my car outside the In-N-Out in Mountain View a few weeks ago, I saw a sleek roadster pull up into the space next to me.  From the sound of the engine (or lack thereof), I knew it was a Tesla.  My husband and I admired it from afar as we enjoyed our burgers.

As it turned out, the owner was leaving In-N-Out right behind us and my husband complimented the driver on his car.

“Do you want a ride?” was the owner’s response.

It turns out that the owner had bought the $100K Tesla specifically to share the experience of driving it with others.  He has become my reference point for the ultimate evangelist, despite his denial of being an evangelist and insistence that he just believed people need to overcome their misconceptions about the technology. While companies may hire evangelists for their products, here was a consumer willing to spend $100K on a relatively new product (his car was #40-something off the line) to educate the public about its greatness.  He says that he regularly offers people rides and often lends the car to his friends to share it with others.  Wow.

Oh, and the ride was amazing.  When the driver punches the “go” pedal (no longer the “gas” pedal), the car just takes off – it’s almost eerie not to hear the gear shifting as you are pushed back into your seat by the force of the rapid acceleration.  What a way to end an unassuming outing to In-N-Out.

H7MNPEQ59793

 

About Anne
I'm a marketing professional with a deep passion for delivering a memorable Customer experience from the very first time a Customer encounters a brand. I have a strong focus on technology commercialization and marketing innovative products. While I was a student at the University of Toronto, I founded Young Inventors International, a not-for-profit organization that has worked with more than 2,000 university student innovators.

Leave a Reply

